What kind of mother sends their kid to school on St. Patrick’s Day with no green?

20120316-083601.jpg
Let’s start by saying that I didn’t make the same mistake this year but here goes another Mother of the Year story by Brooke!

Last year, which is not my first year for St. Patrick’s Day or my first year as a mother, I get up at 4:30am and like every morning my house is crazy. I have a four year old and a 9 month old and I am struggling to get out the door. Clothes are going on, clothes are coming off and I am sweating.

I finally get it together, all three of us dressed at the same time and out the door. I sit in the car and take a deep breath-Success! We all lived another morning through the chaos!

I drop my baby off at the first stop- his baby sitter and then head to the next stop-Brady’s daycare.

I get to Brady’s daycare and when we walk in the door I am confronted with an overwhelming amount of green!

Sh@! It’s St. Patrick’s Day!?!

The daycare worker says to Brady (in front of me) “where is your green?”.

And here it is, the time to admit that you are a questionable mother.

I say “I totally forgot!”

I wanted to say, “you should see what my morning looks like. The mere fact that he is here is a complete success never mind the oversight of this green issue!”

She wanted to say (and really did so with her facial expressions) “What kind of mother are you?”

I was DEVASTATED!!!!

Brady doesn’t have a clue what is going on and is currently playing with his friends who also have no idea what is going on. He couldn’t care less that he is not wearing green!

But, this is a social norm ‘No No’ for a GOOD mother!

Of course, none of the daycare workers could even imagine letting their child go in public on St. Pat’s Day without green. It’s like white after Labor Day. You just don’t do it.

Well, when I got to my car, I lost it. Convinced that your ability to remember St. Patrick’s day is the measuring stick of motherhood, I had failed-miserably!

How could I have done this?

Am I that crappy?

I DID remember to take my son with when I let the house which in my opinion was good.

I started to cry. I called mother in tears telling her how horrible I am. She, of course, had never done anything like this but could understand how horrible it was.

She says “Well, what are you going to do? You can’t go back. Just move on!”

I say “Can you take him something?”

Of course, she says yes and takes him a green shamrock pin!

Saved by my mother!! (This not the first time and I am sure this will not be the last time!)

I feel so much better. I, at least, could cover for my ineptitude! My motherhood status at least partially recovered. I head to work.

After work, I go to pick up Brady and the daycare workers notify me that my mother dropped off a green pin but that Brady didn’t want to wear it. And they handed it to me.

Are you kidding me?!?

Motherhood!! Arghhhh!!!! I should have guessed. Of course he didn’t.

About OrgaNized liFe of A diSorGanizEd MoTher

A successful business woman with three boys under the age of 5. My life is chaos.....happy chaos......
This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What kind of mother sends their kid to school on St. Patrick’s Day with no green?

  1. clothdiaperguru says:

    Our daycare did some kind of green parade today, and I seriously thought it was an environmental thing because they made these goofy green hats out of empty milk jugs yesterday to wear in the parade! Only today was I thinking, hum I wonder if the parade is for St. Patties day or something? I don’t know! We never make a big deal out of these things, and unless someone at daycare reminds me the day before a share day, etc, there is no way I’m going to remember to dress our child in a certain color or bring a certain item! Loved reading your post!!

Leave a Reply

